Who will be open today? Who will pop their top?

gumnut opens

Need a little inspiration? Just check out this flowering gumnut which must pop its top to flower. It’s as if it loses a little of itself to become all it can be. How life can be like that.

My new book, Fraying: Mum, memory loss, the medical maze and me has just been launched. Available as a paperback or ebook, it features many scenes from my garden – many of which, including this gumnut, appear on this blog.

In the ‘comments’ below, you will be able to read comments on Fraying from readers who were quick off the mark to get a copy.

You can find out more about Fraying at my website: http://www.michelegierck.com.au

Text and image copyright Michele Gierck
Michele’s website: http://www.michelegierck.com.au

4 thoughts on “Who will be open today? Who will pop their top?

  1. Dear Michele , I went to my hairdresser on thurs and forgot my reading material at home so I stop at the local book shop in my area and bought your bk fraying mum. Memory loss etc. I’m a 59 yr/old trauma nurse at rah in Adelaide and been in this role 12 yrs , but a nurse since 16 yrs . I just want to congratulate you for writing such amazing bk I’ve just finished it in 48 hrs I couldn’t put it down well done .. I’m taking it to my work colleges and share your bk for future learning for our nurses .doctors, social workers , right down too the Clearner thx once again take care p.s I loved the garden pic’s as us nurses we don’t Hv much time to unwind between shifts bye for now … Your mother sounded lovely

    • Bernadette,
      First of all congratulations on the work you do. Second, thanks so much for your kind words, and your hearty response to Fraying: Mum, memory loss, the medical maze and me. It means so much to me that someone with all your experience related so well to the book, and will share it with your colleagues. I’d also be interested to know how you knew about the book. Did you happen to hear my interview with Peter Goer on ABC radio last Tuesday?
      And yes, my mother was quite a character. And the amazing part of the story to me was how much closer we became as I accompanied her through the end of her earthly journey.
      Thanks again for getting in touch. Writing is so solitary, it’s good to be in touch with readers. I will let you know if, later this year, I will be speaking in Adelaide. (I’m in touch now with Alzheimer’s Australia SA, so that may be possible.)
      With loads of best wishes,
      Michele

  2. Hi Michel, I heard your interveiw on Richard Fidlers Conversations a few weeks ago, & I have just finished reading your book. Thank you so much for sharing yours & your mothers journey, your mum was truly blessed to have you by her side through such a challenging time.
    My heart breaks for all the people out there that don’t have anyone to care for them in these situations, it must be a terrible lonely confusing time for them.
    Thank you also for putting all the information at the end of the book, I am sure it will be used by many, sadly.
    All the info you have gathered to prepare for future care should be put where we all have access to it, it would save so much heartache.

    If we had more people like you speaking out & speaking for our fragile elderly I’m sure it would be an easier journey for many, weather it be planned or unexpected into aged care.

    Regards cheryl

    • Cheryl, thanks so much for your kind words about the book. I was just writing an article last Friday making the point that if you don’t have an advocate when encountering the aged care system, it’s so easy to fall between the cracks.
      I’m happy to keep speaking out. I hope to tour more around Australia in July to speak.
      And I’m delighted that many libraries in Australia and New Zealand have Fraying, so people will be able to access that reflection and resources section.

      It’s a delight to hear from readers who really connect with the story, and the wider issues.
      Thanks again,
      Michele

Leave a Reply

