Gumnut Growth

Growing Gumnut

Sometimes nature is such a surprise. The relentless summer sun has now passed. But evidence of its presence is all around. Many of the leaves on my gumnut tree in the back garden, particularly those facing west, (on the left of screen), now look rusty and dry. How they remain attached to the tree I cannot be sure. I begin to wonder if my treasured tree will survive. And then today, peering from the back patio, I spot a pinkish red shape right at the top. (Can you spot it?) A clump of growing gumnut umbels. My tree is not dying. It’s shedding the old to make way for the new. How often life is like that.

Leave a Reply

