A Morning View

FramedGums
The ornamental grapevine gracing my back balcony, frames my morning view of the world. And looking out below the vine, the sun’s first rays shine on two eucaplyptus trees.

This week I received some encouraging comments about my latest manuscript–the first draft was finished in December. It’s a personal mother-daughter story in which dementia plays a leading role. The reader, who I met once, very briefly, is an intelligent, compassionate woman who runs a psychology practice. She wrote:

‘I finished your book yesterday. It was great. Finally I had a block of time I could devote to it. I read the last 50 pages in one sitting and I must admit I found the ending very emotional. I had tears running down my face. I am a bit of a softie and prone to tears but this was a “make eyes puffy and red” type cry.
It was sad of course but my over-riding feeling afterwards was a warm and fuzzy one. This is hard to explain but I felt connected to your story and it was a great privilege to be able to read it. I think you are able to convey such a great sense of character and personality by your writing. Certainly in regard to your Mum but also in relation to yourself. I have told a number of people about your book in the last few weeks. Most people have (or will have) a period in their life where this type of experience has great relevance.
Your storytelling skills are exceptional.
As I said previously I think it has a fantastic self-help side to it as well.’

No wonder the sun seems to be shinning so brightly this morning!

Leave a Reply

